“The Truth”

“The Truth”

By Derek Felix AKA DFlex

Every time I see your face

My excitement is noticeable

I’ve thought about you before

I even told you what you did for me

How much I admire the person you are

You are always very polite

Thanking me for what I say

You have a unique quality that I love

Sometimes, I wish we could be alone

That way, we could talk more about stuff

I never leave feeling empty

But rather wondering about who you are

It’s true that you are a shining star

Your smile could turn a rainy day into sunshine

Your eyes could light up the dark

Your manner could cool things off

Your style could melt my heart

You could keep me awake in bed

Left pondering what it takes

It’s getting close to September

Pretty soon, the warm weather will fade into cooler days

That’ll have perfect autumn nights to hang out

Maybe then, I’ll finally tell you

Published by

Derek

Derek is a creative writer who enjoys taking photographs, working on poetry, and covering hockey. A free spirit who loves the outdoors, a diverse selection of music, and writing, he's a former St. John's University alumni with a degree in Sports Management. Derek covers the Rangers for Battle of Hudson and is a contributor to The Hockey Writers. His appreciation of art and nature are his true passions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.