“Melting Ice”

“Melting Ice”

By Derek Felix AKA DFlex

I see you again in a familiar setting

We greet each other as usual

All I’m thinking is there’s a girl I wish I could have

Your smile and pretty eyes are all it takes

There’s no escape from how I feel

You seem to have a good effect on me when I’m there

From the moment I saw you, I knew you were for real

Your positive demeanor makes me want to be here

I can feel it in your reflection

You make me want to take you somewhere

When we talk, it feels like there’s a connection

The way you are, you’re way up in the air

Standing out above from all of the rest

Your response has always made it seem like you care

If I tell you the truth, it’s that you’re simply the best

You can make hearts turn into melting ice

By freezing us in our train of thought

It’s so easy to get lost in your eyes

For that split second, you can’t hear anything

It happened just last week

I was asked a question but couldn’t hear

Instead, I admired your stylish hat

Until finally realizing what was said

You smiled that precious smile

I wished you a good day

In that moment, time stood still for a while

I was mesmerized by your aura and didn’t know what to say

I could tell that you loved it

The same way you perked up when we spoke yesterday

You have such a kind heart

There’s something so unique about who you are

You had me at hello from the start

I wish we could go for a ride so far

Your look can turn into melting ice

At any moment, you can cause chills up and down the spine

It’s as if it got hot in here for a strange reason

When really, all I’m thinking is you’re so fine

If you were a wine, you’d be red

The color of love that tastes so sweet

As I see your sparkling image dancing around my bed

You really are a lovely treat

Your smile is one to behold

It can light up even the darkest days

You have a heart of gold

That can light up like May

Your style is one of quality and finesse

The clothes stand out along with your hair

You are truly the finest and best

I love the accessories that show off your flair

At times, you mesmerize me

It’s like I’m melting ice

Driven by fantasy

I think about you a lot

What would it be like to hang out

Whether it’s ten minutes or an hour

I know exactly how I’d feel

You’d have all the power

Maybe I’d take you out for a meal

I imagine that smile with my eyes closed

I can see you as clear as day

Even in the dark, you’d make everything glow

There would be electricity in the air with so much to say

I’d tell you about how it is while painting a nice picture

I find you fascinating, enlightening and smart

If we talked, I’d tell you that you’re quite the character

Clearly, you are a fine work of art

Published by

Derek

Derek is a creative writer who enjoys taking photographs, working on poetry, and covering hockey. A free spirit who loves the outdoors, a diverse selection of music, and writing, he's a former St. John's University alumni with a degree in Sports Management. Derek covers the Rangers for Battle of Hudson and is a contributor to The Hockey Writers. His appreciation of art and nature are his true passions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.