“Work Of Art”

“Work Of Art”

By Derek Felix AKA DFlex

I had a dream that I saw you again

I’ve wanted to call you for so long

Just to tell you what could’ve been

All this time later, I know I was wrong

To say how sorry I am

For what I caused you that time

I should’ve told you from the beginning

How I felt when you were always in my mind

Instead of pushing you away

Because I didn’t know how to handle it

When now I have all the right words I would say

A message of truth to show you who I am

You will always be pretty in blue

A smile so bright it lights up a dark day

You’re unique in style which makes you so true

It’s no wonder I can see you so clearly today

A kind heart that I know all too well

You admire paintings of a historical part

Of course I think that’s quite swell

Because you’ll always be a work of art

Published by

Derek

Derek is a creative writer who enjoys taking photographs, working on poetry, and covering hockey. A free spirit who loves the outdoors, a diverse selection of music, and writing, he's a former St. John's University alumni with a degree in Sports Management. Derek covers the Rangers for Battle of Hudson and is a contributor to The Hockey Writers. His appreciation of art and nature are his true passions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.